Get the intel on Mintel! (And other sources of market research information)

Have you used Mintel, our fantastic source of information for marketing research, yet? If not, or if it’s been a while, take a look at the brand new video tutorials  now available on the Mintel help pages. The videos cover the following areas:-

  • Category Overviews

Useful if you want to browse the most recent content by Sector, Theme or Demographic

  • Added Value Content

This is good if you want to find out about those ‘added extras’ which are available in Mintel, like Webinars, Analyst Insight and Quarterly Updates

  • Creating Email Alerts and Saved Searches

Shows you how to set up a profile so you can keep up to date with the latest content in your areas of interest

  • Creating Report Graphs

Who doesn’t love a graph? This video shows you how to create one from a table of figures

  • Finding What’s Available in Your Subscription

Shows you how to check which Mintel content is available to you (Swansea University subscribes to the following industry categories: e-commerce, food, leisure, technology and drink)

  • Running a Search

Does what it says on the tin! Tips for searching Mintel content

  • Structure of a Report

Highlights the key features of the Mintel reports so you know where to find the information you need

The videos are particularly useful if you’re using Mintel Oxygen, which is great for finding independent market research reports containing analysis, commentary and data. At Swansea University, we also have access to Mintel Market Sizes, where you’ll find data on industries and countries, including market size, market share and forecast data for thousands of consumer goods categories worldwide.

Although Mintel provides our specialist market research database, you may also find relevant reports on two of our other key databases, EBSCO Business Source Premier and ProQuest Business Collection. For help finding market research reports via these sources, check our guide on Blackboard under the heading ‘Can’t find the market research you need on Mintel?’.

All four databases are available off-campus as well as on-campus, so you’ll always have a wealth of marketing information available at your fingertips!

Advertisements

Exploring one of our top resources: Proquest Business Collection

Screenshot of the Proquest logo

One of our top business resources is Proquest Business Collection. Easy to use, it makes finding scholarly journal articles as fast and straightforward as Googling (or faster: the quality of results is guaranteed so no need to analyse the source).

Under the hood, this is actually the following distinct databases:

So as well as a strong coverage of business topics, it is also a good bet for anything in the specific areas mentioned above. We have our own guide to the database (PDF) but to get the most out of it, try the in-depth resources that Proquest themselves provide:

Detailed User Guide (PDF)

YouTube playlist of videos that cover every aspect of the interface. Most of the videos are under 2 minutes long. Try using the thesaurus to help you find the best search terms for your topic:

 

or the Advanced Search for power-searching tips:

 

Note: The Business Collection shares the same interface as other Proquest subject resources (e.g. ASSIA) so the Proquest guides refer to the general interface, not the business collection specifically.

New e-Resource now available – SCOPUS database

Swansea University Library now has a subscription to SCOPUS.

SCOPUS is the largest abstract and citation database of both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With nearly 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide, SCOPUS offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in a wide variety of subjects including science, engineering, medicine, health and life sciences, arts and humanities, social sciences, psychology, and economics.

If you are a researcher you can…

  • …find out who is citing you, and how many citations an article or an author has received.
  • …use the refine results overview to quickly see the main journals, disciplines and authors that publish in your area of interest.
  • …uncover important and relevant articles for your topic.

Take a look at these online tutorials to see how SCOPUS can help your research.

Available both on and off campus, you can access SCOPUS using this link to iFind Discover, the library catalogue and click on the Access this resource link (Athens username and password required)

If you need any further help using this new resource please contact your subject librarians